Under 21s squad named

Poland Under 21s coach Maciej Stolarczyk has named a 25-man squad for the upcoming European Championship qualifying matches against Israel (24 March, Petach Tikva) and Hungary (29 March, Zabrze).

Stolarczyk is able to call upon several players who have experience in the senior team: Brighton loanees Kacper Kozłowski and Michał Karbownik, Red Bull Salzburg’s Kamil Piątkowski, and Roma’s Nicola Zalewski.

There is also a return to the squad for Leicester City goalkeeper Jakub Stolarczyk, who has recently been playing first team football for Scottish side Dunfermline Athletic; Pogoń Szczecin midfielder Mateusz Łęgowski, who hasn’t made an appearance for the 21s in almost a year; and Wolfsburg striker Bartosz Białek, who has missed the last six games with a cruciate ligament injury.

In addition, Stolarczyk could hand and under 21 debut to a handful of players. Ariel Mosór receives a second call up, after sitting on the bench against Latvia; Mariusz Fornalczyk and Michał Rakoczy are called to the 21s after last representing the under 19s and under 16s respectively; while Los Angeles-born Ben Lederman could feature in a Poland shirt for the first time, having represented the United States of America at various other youth levels.

The Biało-czerwoni are third in Group B, two points behind Germany and their first opponents Israel. A pair of victories would put Stolarczyk’s side in line for at least a play-off place.

Goalkeepers: Filip Majchrowicz (Radomiak Radom), Cezary Miszta (Legia Warsaw), Jakub Stolarczyk (Dunfermline Athletic).

Defenders: Jakub Kiwior (Spezia), Łukasz Bejger (Śląsk Wrocław), Kamil Piątkowski (Red Bull Salzburg), Konrad Gruszkowski (Wisła Kraków), Michał Karbownik (Olympiakos), Maik Nawrocki (Legia Warsaw), Ariel Mosór (Piast Gliwice).

Midfielders: Jakub Kamiński (Lech Poznań), Łukasz Poręba (Zagłębie Lubin), Michał Skóraś (Lech Poznań), Maciej Żurawski (Pogoń Szczecin), Kacper Kozłowski (Union St. Gilloise), Krzysztof Kubica (Górnik Zabrze), Marcel Wędrychowski (Górnik Łęczna), Nicola Zalewski (Roma), Mateusz Łęgowski (Pogoń Szczecin), Maksymilian Sitek (Stal Mielec), Mariusz Fornalczyk (Pogoń Szczecin), Ben Lederman (Raków Częstochowa), Michał Rakoczy (Cracovia).

Strikers: Adrian Benedyczak (Parma), Bartosz Białek (Wolfsburg).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s